Stimulating networks & knowledge
within the documentary sector.

User login

Enter your username and password here in order to log in on the website:
Forgot your password?
Join EDN
For full web access, discounts, Co-Production Guide, EDN Financing Guide & individual consultation

The EDN Award 2018

Who will get The EDN Award?

March 6, 2018 at 20:00. Thessaloniki, Greece

EDN is once again honouring an outstanding contribution to the documentary culture by presenting the EDN Award. The presentation takes place within the framework of the Docs in Thessaloniki pitching forum. We invite all members, colleagues and friends to take part in our celebration.

The award recipient will be revealed at the award ceremony held on 6 March during the EDN pitching forum Docs in Thessaloniki. The forum is held in the framework of the Thessaloniki Documentary Festival – Images of the 21st Century.


In previous years the award has been presented to:

2005 - YLE Documentary: The documentary department of YLE, the national public service broadcaster in Finland.

2006 - The Jan Vrijman Fund: Dutch film fund supporting filmmakers and festivals in developing countries.

2007 - Svetlana and Zoran Popovic: For initiating and running Magnificent 7 in Belgrade, Serbia

2008 - IDF – Institute of Documentary Film: Prague based institute promoting documentary films from East- and Central Europe

2009 - Nenad Puhovski and Zagreb Dox: For initiating Zagreb Dox in Croatia.

2010 - IRDFA - Iranian Documentary Filmmakers Association: Directors’ guild in Iran focusing on documentary filmmakers

2011 - Dimitri Eipides: Director of the Thessaloniki Documentary Festival.

2012 - Diana El Jeiroudi, Orwa Nyrabia and The DOX BOX Team: for initiating and running the Syrian documentary festival DOX BOX

2013 - Stefano Tealdi and Joan Gonzales: for initiating and running Documentary in Europe and DocsBarcelona, respectively. 

2014 - Tue Steen Müller: for a life long commitment to developing the European documentary culture.

2015 - Caspar Sonnen: for his pioneering committment to interactive documentary work

2016 - Marianne Lévy-Leblond: for her outstanding contribution to the field of online and interactive documentary.

2017 - Nilotpal Majumdar: in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the development of the international documentary culture

EDN Contact:

Ove Rishøj Jensen