Stimulating networks & knowledge
within the documentary sector.

User login

Enter your username and password here in order to log in on the website:
Join EDN
For full web access, discounts, Co-Production Guide, EDN Financing Guide & individual consultation

Submit your international documentary for Grierson 2010 awards


Entries are invited for Grierson 2010: The British Documentary Awards, which is honouring film and television documentaries. The awards recognise films that demonstrate integrity, originality, technical excellence and social or cultural significance. Deadline for entries is 1 June 2010.

Grierson 2010: The British Documentary Awards will accept entries of documentaries made anywhere in the world as long as they have had a first UK screening during the qualifying period from 1 May 2009 to 30 April 2010.

The award categories are:

  • ·      Best Documentary on a Contemporary Issue
  • ·      Best Documentary on the Arts
  • ·      History Today Best Historical Documentary
  • ·      Best Science Documentary
  • ·      Most Entertaining Documentary
  • ·      Best Drama Documentary
  • ·      Best Documentary Series
  • ·      Best Cinema Documentary
  • ·      Best Newcomer Award                                                                                                 

A shortlist of eight entries for each category will be announced on 3 August 2010 and the final four nominations in each category on 17 September 2010. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony at the BFI Southbank in London on the evening of 2 November 2010.

The Grierson Awards commemorate the pioneering Scottish documentary filmmaker John Grierson (1898 – 1972), famous for Drifters and Night Mail and the man widely regarded as the father of the documentary.

Here you can get further information and enter your documentary for The Grierson Awards 2010.

Related links at

See upcoming awards deadlines

See upcoming EDN Activities