Stimulating networks & knowledge
within the documentary sector.

User login

Enter your username and password here in order to log in on the website:
Join EDN
For full web access, discounts, Co-Production Guide, EDN Financing Guide & individual consultation

Documentaries awarded at The Kraków Film Festival


The 50th Kraków Film Festival came to a completion this weekend and concluded with an award ceremony honouring among others Swiss, Russian, Polish, American and Israeli documentaries.

Since last Monday, over 250 films were screened in five cinemas including the open-air at Szczepański Square and The Kraków Film Festival played host to over 500 guests from Poland and abroad – directors, producers, filmmakers, festivals’ representatives and journalists.

This year’s Kraków Film Festival Documentary Competition has two winners:

Sanya and Sparrow, directed by Andriej Griazew, has won in the 30-60 Minutes Category

The Golden Horn in the Over 60 Minutes Category went to Kaleo La Belle, an American director currently living in Switzerland, for the film Beyond This Place.

The Jury, chaired by Marian Marzyński, justified their decision as follows: the award for the maker of Beyond This Place for making an extremely intelligent film confronting the values of two generations of Americans, in which a son discovers the past of his father, absent in his life, and for the director of Sanya and Sparrow for filming a human drama of victims of the early capitalism in the Soviet Union.

The winners of the Silver Horns are Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath, who, in their film Enemies of the People went back to the events which took place in the seventies in Cambodia, and Marc Isaacs for the portrayal of the modern business district of London in Men of the City.

The Jury, emphasising high standards of the Documentary Commpetition, gave five Honourable Mentions:

  •  - The Dog Hill, directed by Grzegorz Zariczny (Poland)
  •  - Who Looks After, directed by Muriel Rebora (Argentina)
  •  - 108, directed by Renate Costa (Spain)
  •  - Osadne, directed by Marko Skop (Czech Republic, Slovakia)
  •  - As Lilith, directed by Eytan Harris (Israel).


The Jury of the International Short Film Competition, chaired by Krzysztof Zanussi have decided to award the film Out of Reach directed by Jakub Stożek. The documentary tells a story about two very independent adolescent sisters trying to find contact with their mother, which they have never met.

The Silver Dragon for the Director of the Best Short Documentary Film went to Jay Rosenblatt for his film The Darkness of a Day (USA).

In addition to these awards Tussilago, directed by Jonas Odell, has been awarded Krakow Short Film Nominee for the European Film Awards 2010. The Jury of International Film Critics (FIPRESCI) have awarded a Czech film I Love My Boring Life, directed by Jan Gogola. The Jury of the International Federation of Film Discussion Clubs (FICC) have decided to give the Don Quichote Award for the film Logorama, directed by François Alaux, Hervé de Crécy, Ludovic Houplain.

Peoples Choice Award, voted by the audience throughout the Festival, went to Marcin Koszałka for The Declaration of Immortality.

Here you is a list with all award winners at The Kraków Film Festival.

Related links at

Find a festival for your documentary in our online festival database

See upcoming EDN Activities