Stimulating networks & knowledge
within the documentary sector.

User login

Enter your username and password here in order to log in on the website:
Join EDN
For full web access, discounts, Co-Production Guide, EDN Financing Guide & individual consultation

GRIERSON 2015: Call for Submissions


The British Documentary Awards "Grierson 2015" is open to documentaries that have had their first UK screening between 1 May 2014 and 30 April 2015. Submissions for Grierson 2015 will be accepted online until Monday, 1 June 2015. The Grierson Awards - for factual programmes and documentaries - recognize outstanding films that demonstrate integrity, originality and technical excellence, and social or cultural significance.

GRIERSON 2015: The British Documentary Awards

All categories are open to documentaries made anywhere in the world so long as they have had a first UK screening during the qualifying period 1 May 2014 - 30 April 2015. This includes scheduled screenings within recognized film, television and documentary festivals and, for the first time this year, entries will be accepted which have screened on digital platforms only - eg. Netflix, iPlayer, Amazon - as long as the screening was accessible by a UK-based audience.

The spectrum of awards ranges from the best historical documentaries, factual programmes on arts and current affairs up to the best cinema documentary film. An overview of the different award categories can be found here.

For more information about how to submit and the submission guidlines, please check the related webpage on the Grierson Trust website.

A shortlist of eight entries for each category will be announced on 28 July and the final four nominations in each category on 15 September. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony at the The Mermaid, London on Monday, 2 November.

Reminder: the closing date for entries is 1 June 2015.

Source: Grieson Trust | Grierson Award Categories