Stimulating networks & knowledge
within the documentary sector.

User login

Enter your username and password here in order to log in on the website:
Join EDN
For full web access, discounts, Co-Production Guide, EDN Financing Guide & individual consultation

Results From the EDN General Assembly 2015


On Sunday, 22 November, EDN's annual General Assembly (G.A.) had been organized during the IDFA festival in Amsterdam, as has been the tradition for many years.

EDN Director Paul Pauwels, EDN Chairman
Andy Glynne (l.) and G.A. Chairman Steve Seidenberg (r.)
during the General Assembly

This year's G.A. took place in the Compagnietheater and was attended by more than 40 members who came to cast their vote for proposals about structural changes and for the candidates that applied for open seats in the Executive Committee (E.C.). The EDN team highly appreciated the efforts of those who managed to join the G.A. but also wishes to thank those who tried to attend but couldn't be with us due to other obligations or a tight schedule during IDFA.

Steve Seidenberg was once again elected as chairperson of the G.A. and led through the extensive agenda with efficiency and professionalism, making sure that the variety of agenda items could be covered in the three hour period that had been allocated for the assembly.

Election of candidates for the Executive Committee

One of the key tasks during this year's G.A. was to organize the election for open seats in the E.C. after the term of some candidates has come to an end. A total of three seats were open for election. Through a combination of online/proxy voting and ballot forms that were distributed during the G.A., EDN members have cast a total of 169 votes with the following results: Martichka Bozhilova (Agitprop, Bulgaria) was re-elected and Björn Jensen (Ginger Foot Films, Germany) as well as Klara Grunning (Swedish Film Institute, Sweden) have been welcomed as new members in the E.C. For an overview of biographies, please see the presentation of E.C. members on our website. The EDN team congratulates all three candidates on their appointment.

Having ended their regular terms as part of the E.C., two members have left the committee to focus on their professional careers and obligations: Paolo Pallavidino (Producer, EiE Film, Italy) and Uldis Cekulis (Producer, VFS Films, Latvia). The EDN team wishes to thank both Paolo and Uldis for their dedication and contribution to the development of EDN during their time in the E.C.

Further decisions taken during the G.A.

Apart from the election of committee members, the agenda further listed a variety of key decisions to be voted on, which had previously been put forth by the E.C. The agenda items which required attending members to vote can be found in the overview below:

- the creation of an honorary committee (accepted)

- a new membership fee structure will be implemented in future, details to be announced in the coming weeks/months (accepted)

- an international web domain for will be acquired (accepted)

The EDN team would again like to thank all members for their contributions regarding the preparation of the G.A. and welcomes the new E.C. members to the EDN family. We very much look forward to implementing the plans and decisions that resulted from this year's G.A.

Related links at

Overview of EDN's Executive Committee Members

See Upcoming EDN Activities

Follow EDN on Facebook and Twitter