Stimulating networks & knowledge
within the documentary sector.

User login

Enter your username and password here in order to log in on the website:
Join EDN
For full web access, discounts, Co-Production Guide, EDN Financing Guide & individual consultation

Grierson Trust Announces Winners of The 45th British Documentary Awards


The Grierson Trust announced on Monday the winners of the 45th British Documentary Awards, also known as the 'Grierson Awards'. The official award ceremony, hosted by British actor Stephen Mangan, took place on Monday evening at the Mermaid Theatre in London, UK.

Still from Machines by Rahul Jain, awarded for
Best Single Documentary (International)

The 45th annual British Documentary Awards once again celebrated outstanding talents from the world of documentary film with the final winners having been announced during the award ceremony on Monday. Among the broadcasters and platforms associated with the winning titles for their first release are: the BBC (seven winners), Channel 4 (two winners) and Netflix (one winner). An additional highlight of the award ceremony was the honouring of Grayson Perry as best UK presenter for his work on Grayson Perry: All Man.

The award for 'Best Single Documentary International' went to Machines by Rahul Jain (Jann Pictures, IV Films & Pallas Films). The film offers an intimate portrayal of workers in an Indian textile factory and exposes the suffering and the environment they can hardly escape from. Tom McDonald, who chaired the jury, said in a statement: "[Machines is] an unforgettable film full of striking and extraordinary imagery with an evocative sound design to match. It is a distinctive, singular take on an important subject which lingers in the mind long after viewing: part dream, part nightmare but wholly original and utterly timely."

Lorraine Heggessey, Chair of The Grierson Trust, said in her opening speech on Monday, "Documentary filmmakers are crucial for giving us insight into stories that might be overlooked - or twisted - by the wider media. In this era of fake and manipulated news, authentic voices and those who doggedly pursue the truth are needed more than ever. Our winners tonight are testament to the skill, dedication and passion of some of the world's best factual filmmakers. Congratulations to them all."

The Grierson 2017 award winners are:

Best Entertaining Documentary
999: What's Your Emergency? | James Incledon, Sam Barnes, Chris Rowe for Blast! Films; first shown: Channel 4

Televisual Best Historical Documentary

13th | Ava DuVernay for Forward Movement LLC & Kandoo Films; first shown: Netflix

Highly Commended (Historical Documentary)
Aberfan: The Green Hollow | Pip Broughton for BBC Studios in Wales in association with Vox Pictures; first shown: BBC Four

Best Current Affairs Documentary
Goodbye Aleppo | Christine Garabedian for BBC Arabic; first shown: BBC Arabic

Best Documentary Short
Fish Story | Charlie Lyne for Loop; first shown: BFI Future Film Festival

ITV Best Student Documentary
Acta Non Verba | Yvann Yagchi for NFTS; first shown: University/College screening

Best Constructed Documentary Series
Muslims Like Us | Production Team for Love Productions; first shown: BBC Two

Best Natural History Documentary
Wild Ireland: The Edge of the World - Episode 1 | John Murray, Cepa Giblin for Crossing the Line Productions; first shown: BBC Two

Best Single Documentary - International

Machines | Rahul Jain for Jann Pictures, IV Films & Pallas Films; first shown: General theatrical release

Highly Commended (Single Documentary International)
Last Days of Solitary | Dan Edge, Lauren Mucciolo for Mongoose Pictures in association with FRONTLINE PBS; first shown: BBC Four

Best Arts Documentary
Paula Rego: Secrets and Stories | Nick Willing for Kismet Film Company; first shown: BBC Two

Best Cinema Documentary
Weiner | Josh Kriegman, Elyse Steinberg for AWD Films LLC; first shown: General theatrical release

Best Science Documentary
Forces of Nature with Brian Cox: Episode 2, Somewhere in Spacetime | Stephen Cooter for BBC Studios Science with PBS co-produced by France Télévisions; first shown: BBC One

UK Best Documentary Presenter
Grayson Perry for Grayson Perry: All Man | Neil Crombie, Arthur Cary for Swan Films; first shown: Channel 4

Best Single Documentary - Domestic:
Hillsborough | Daniel Gordon for Very Much So Productions and Passion Pictures; first shown: BBC Two

Best Documentary Series:
Exodus: Our Journey to Europe | James Bluemel, Jack MacInness, Paul Glynn, Robin Barnwell for Keo Films produced in partnership with The Open University; first shown: BBC Two

We would like to congratulate the Grierson award winners on their success - the full list of winners incl. jury comments and further details can be found here.

Related links at

Search among 600+ events in the DOCalendar

See Upcoming EDN Activities

Follow EDN on Facebook and Twitter